The De Morgan Collection Returns to Chelsea
October 10 @ 10:00 am - November 22 @ 6:00 pm
The De Morgan Foundation presents its collection of husband and wife and artistic duo, William and Evelyn De Morgan.
He was a potter who established his business on Cheyne Row and went on to be the premier ceramic designer of the Victorian arts and crafts movement. She was so much more than a Pre-Raphaelite artist, who painted feminist, pacifist, and spiritualist canvases disguised as beautiful aesthetic paintings, from her studio at 17a Edith Grove.
For the first time in a century, the De Morgan Foundation brings its collection of husband and wife artistic duo William and Evelyn De Morgan back home to Chelsea to celebrate its latest partnership with Cromwell Place. Loans include the beautiful Night and Sleep (1878) by Evelyn De Morgan, WIlliam De Morgan’s charming Parrot Tile Panels (1888 – 1904), a leaflet celebrating the Blue Plaque on the De Morgans home at 127 Old Church Street, and an exhibition catalogue of Evelyn De Morgan’s 1916 exhibition at her studio.