Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Phew – Cafe OTO residency

October 17 @ 7:30 pm October 18 @ 11:00 pm

Upset The Rhythm presents…

Tuesday 17 October
Cafe OTO, 18-22 Ashwin St, London, E8 3DL
7.30pm | £16 | Tickets: https://link.dice.fm/Ne228acb66c8


Wednesday 18 October
Cafe OTO, 18-22 Ashwin St, London, E8 3DL
7.30pm | £16 | Tickets: https://link.dice.fm/t6505dd3f0dc

PHEW is an avant-garde vocalist, electronics innovator and post-punk artist. Phew was a founding member of the legendary Japanese punk band Aunt Sally. After the band’s breakup in 1979, she continued her career as a solo artist, releasing a collaborative single with Ryuichi Sakamoto in 1980 and her first solo album, ‘Phew’, with Conny Plank, Holger Czukay of CAN, and Jaki Liebezeit in 1981. In 1992, her third album, ‘Our Likeness’, was released on MUTE (recently reissued), again at Conny’s studio, with Jaki Liebezeit of CAN, Alexander Hacke of Einstürzende Neubauten, and Chrislo Haas of DAF. Since the beginning of the 2010s, she has released a series of works that combine voice and electronic music and has gained international recognition as a forward-facing electronic artist. She has also released collaborative works with Ana da Silva (Raincoats), Seiichi Yamamoto (Boredoms) and others. Phew’s expansive ‘Vertical Jamming’ was released on vinyl for the first time via Disciples last year, whilst Mute recently released her stunning record ‘New Decade’; a stark, haunted album populated by voices that intone empty pleasantries in English and Japanese, against a backdrop of fractured, dubbed-out electronics.

ALISON COTTON is a viola player based in London working in composition and improvisation. Her debut album ’All Is Quiet at the Ancient Theatre’ was released in 2018, firstly on cassette on Bloxham Tapes, followed by a vinyl release on Cardinal Fuzz (UK) and Feeding Tube (USA). In July 2019, her long-form piece, ‘Behind the Spiderweb Gates,’ was released on the Australian label Longform Editions. As well as the viola, she uses an array of other instruments (her voice, harmonium, percussion, recorder, omnichord, shruti box and piano) to create long, haunting folk drones. Cotton’s new album, ‘The Portrait You Painted of Me’, is a 6-track record – her first for Rocket Recordings. ‘Mumurations Over the Moor’ is a wordless piece of layered vocals drifting like fog towards a sunset over the green undulations of North East England. ‘The Last Wooden Ship’ evokes the shipyards of Sunderland, laced with piano and percussion events, while her voice calls out like a siren urging listeners to a rocky demise.

ME LOST ME delights in experimenting with songwriting and storytelling, creating a beguiling mix of soaring vocals and atmospheric electronics that playfully push the boundaries of genre. Led by Newcastle-based artist Jayne Dent who takes influence from folk, art pop, noise, ambient and improvised music, the project has transformed since 2017 from a solo endeavour to an expanded group, regularly collaborating with acclaimed North-East jazz musicians Faye MacCalman and John Pope. Me Lost Me’s music has been described in The Guardian as “stripping folk back to its bones while letting its future echoes bleed out” and by BBC Radio 6’s Tom Robinson as a “brilliant peculiar noise”. Me Lost Me’s incredible new album ‘RPG’ is due for release on July 7th via Upset The Rhythm.

ANA DA SILVA is a founding member and songwriter of the pioneering post-punk band The Raincoats. Across four daring full-length records, The Raincoats helped shape the timeless notion that punk is what you make it – an act of raw expression, not any one sound. The Raincoats have offered creative and spiritual inspiration for several generations of artists. They set a crucial precedent for feminist work within a DIY punk context, marked all the while by Ana’s poetic lyrical style and innovative noise guitar playing. After The Raincoats’ hiatus in 1984, Ana collaborated with The Go-Betweens, This Heat’s Charles Hayward and choreographer/dancer Gaby Agis. In 2005, Ana released her solo debut, ‘The Lighthouse’ – a self-recorded collection of spare, elegant experiments in electronic indie-pop. Ana has also collaborated with Phew on an extraordinary album ‘Island’ released by Newhere Music in 2018.

SUNROOF is the pairing of Daniel Miller and Gareth Jones. Their new album, ‘Electronic Music Improvisations Volume 2’ is available via the Parallel Series of Mute. ‘Electronic Music Improvisations Volume 2’ is a set of eight improvised modular electronic music instrument pieces recorded at the duo’s respective home studios. The recording sessions followed release of their debut from 2021 but where Vol. 1 was the result of four decades of friendship and collaboration, this new album came together in a relatively short space of time. Recorded in the same spirit as their previous sessions – with no pre-planning and no rehearsal – they met up with “unpatched” modular systems, and began improvising. Without any of the parameters they followed in the first sessions, the duo allowed the pieces to expand naturally, keeping editing to a minimum.


October 17 @ 7:30 pm
October 18 @ 11:00 pm
Event Categories:
, , ,
Event Tags:
, , , ,


Upset The Rhythm
View Organiser Website
18-22 Ashwin St,
London, E8 3DL
+ Google Map
View Venue Website


Leave a Message, Comment or Review