Brighton Festival Chorus & Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Mozart Requiem including works by Dobrinka Tabakova, Libby Croad & Juliette Pochin with Lemn Sissay
Cadogan Hall, London, SW1X 9DQ

Libby Croad, Suite for String Orchestra

Dobrinka Tabakova, Centuries of Meditations

Juliette Pochin & Lemn Sissay, Let There Be Peace

Mozart, Requiem
Conductor James Morgan
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Brighton Festival Chorus
Tickets: £45.00, £37.50 & 30.00. Students & under 16s: £22.50
The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and the Brighton Festival Chorus are delighted to present Mozart’s Requiem along with works by contemporary female composers.
Luscious pizzicato and arco lines make up the contrasting layers and textures that characterise Libby Croad’s Suite for String Orchestra which was broadcast on BBC Radio 3 for International Women’s Day in 2018.
Composer-in-residence for the BBC Concert Orchestra, Grammy-nominated Dobrinka Tabakova, is composer-in-residence for the BBC Concert Orchestra. Centuries of Meditations was selected by the PRS Foundation as one of the best pieces of British orchestral music from the past 25 years. Written for Britain’s great cathedrals, the work is noted for inviting engaged active listening in an architecturally beautiful environment.
Juliette Pochin and Lemn Sissay collaborated on a new piece for chamber orchestra and semi-Chorus, Let There Be Peace which was originally commissioned for the 2020 Brighton Festival. Due to the pandemic, it featured as part of the Brighton Festival online that year. This will be its first live performance.
The concert concludes with Mozart’s Requiem which was famously completed after his death by his pupil, Franz Xaver Süssmayr. Uniquely for this performance, the Sanctus and Benedictus, thought to be exclusively the work of Süssmayr, will be substituted for movements written by Mozart himself.